admin's blog

Andrew Carnegie Medals Shortlist Revealed

ALA today announced six books as finalists for the 2013 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, awarded for the previous year’s best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the US.  Along with a medal presentation at ALA’s annual conference in Chicago on June 30, each winning author will receive $5,000 and the four finalists will each receive $1,500.

The 2013 shortlisted titles are:

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction:

ALA at BEA: Another Good Dialogue

As previously reported, ALA President Maureen Sullivan participated on the panel “E-books from Libraries: Good for Authors?” at the 2013 Book Expo America in New York. The May 30 session, organized by the Association of Authors’ Representatives, was a win for libraries (thanks Maureen!), with a few notable things said. Turnout was strong, with perhaps 300 or more in attendance.

ALA, Ebooks, and Digital Content: What’s Next?

Come learn about ALA ebook activities and plans from the leadership of ALA’s Digital Content and Libraries Working Group (DCWG) on June 29 during the ALA Annual Conference (1–2:30 p.m., at McCormick Place S502).. A distinguished panel will then provide views on libraries as publishers and stewards of America’s digital cultural heritage, and how ALA can best advocate for these important library interests.

New Digital Supplement on Ebooks Launches

Digital Content: What’s Next, the third supplement on ebooks and digital content from American Libraries, is now available.

Addition of the UMB Rewards Credit Card Significantly Expands ALA’s Affinity/Member Value Programs (MVP)

Chicago, IL (5/16/2013) – The American Library Association (ALA) and UMB CardPartner ( have launched The American Library Association affinity Visa®Platinum Rewards credit card, expanding its Affinity/MVP Programs for ALA members.

Skip Prichard Named OCLC President

Skip Prichard has been named the next president and CEO of OCLC effective July 1, the firm announced May 16. He will succeed Jay Jordan, who will retire on June 30 after 15 years at the helm of OCLC.

Prichard was formerly president and CEO of Ingram Content Group and has held leadership positions at ProQuest and LexisNexis over the past decade.

See ALA at BEA

Going to Book Expo America, May 29–June 1 in New York? If so, come join ALA President Maureen Sullivan at two events:

Register for June 6 Virtual Membership Meeting (VMM13)

 June 6 - ALA Virtual Membership Meeting 2013

CHICAGO - ALA President Maureen Sullivan, Executive Director Keith Michael Fiels, and the Committee on Membership Meetings (COMM) invite all ALA personal members to register for and to participate in ALA’s annual online Virtual Membership Meeting (VMM13) that takes place on Thursday, June 6 from 3 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. CDT.

Young Wins 2014–2015 ALA Presidency

Election results are in: Courtney Louise Young, head librarian at Penn State Greater Allegheny has been elected the 2014–2015 president of the American Library Association, defeating Barbara Froling Immroth, professor at the University Texas at Austin School of Information.

Young received 5,391 votes, while Immroth received 5,029 votes.

ALA: Hachette Book Group Marks Real Progress in Library E-Lending

The American Library Association (ALA) welcomed today’s announcement from Hachette Book Group that it will begin offering its full catalog of ebooks immediately for lending in US public and school libraries. ALA President Maureen Sullivan today released the following statement:


Subscribe to RSS - admin's blog